What Does Photography Mean to Me?

I enjoy improving my photography. My preference is portraiture, and I would choose outdoor portraiture more than shooting inside. More than anything, I enjoy taking photographs and that’s the motivation for me to learn.

Digital photography is a godsend for me and many other photographers. I don’t think I would’ve ever indulged in this hobby if film was the only option. I like learning how to use the new products and software that is available for editing photographs, and seeing what I can do with them. Having the ability to change the photograph post production has given me a new way to enjoy taking photographs, and to play about with them and how they are presented.

Creation is half the fun. I like to orchestrate photography shoots and try different shots. I like meeting new people and working with them and creating something new and special. This is the fun of this hobby – getting out of my comfort zone and trying new things. Was it Bob Ross who said he doesn’t believe in mistakes? Well, I do believe in mistakes, but I use them as learning opportunities. Photography doesn’t ever seem like work, so it’s fantastic to partake in an activity that never seems to get old.

Taken back in 2009

Taken back in 2009

 

I enjoy developing and adding skill each and every year. One of my goals this year is to take THREE photography risks. I’m not sure what this goal entails, but I will let you know as soon as I know.

 

Taken in 2012.

Taken in 2012.

Leave a Reply

